Motor Vehicle Information
Motor Vehicle Locations
Richmond County has two permanent locations for handling motor vehicle transactions:
|West Augusta Tag Office
2816 Washington Rd Ste 109
Augusta, GA 30909
|South Augusta Tag Office
3463-A Peach Orchard Rd
Augusta, GA 30906
Office hours for all locations are 8:30 am - 5:00 pm, Monday - Friday and Saturday 8:30 am - 12:00 pm (South Augusta Tag Office Only). For more information please contact us at (706) 821-2476. A drop box is located at the South Augusta Tag Office for your convenience. No cash please.
View information for new residents.
RenewalsGeorgia Law requires that all auto tags be renewed within 30 days before owner’s birthdate. Renewals after the deadlines are subject to a 10% penalty on the ad valorem tax due and a 25% penalty on the tag fee.
Except new residents and owners of recently acquired vehicles, all vehicle owners should receive a prebill in the mail before their renewal period.
Auto Tags - Fast & Easy!For fast convenient service, mail your tag application or you may renew your Georgia tag online using Georgia Department of Revenue - Vehicle Registration Renewals.
All new residents who have obtained Georgia license plates during the current year should receive a renewal prebill the following year to renew the tag and pay the ad valorem taxes. If you do not receive your renewal prebill 30 days before your birthday, call (706) 821-2476 and a prebill will be mailed to you.